Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission


The Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission ("SCOF") oversees and advises SEC on matters relating to the University's policies and procedures concerning the academic mission, including the structure of the academic staff, the tenure system, faculty appointments and promotions, faculty research, and faculty governance. In general, the Committee deals with the matters covered by the following sections of the University's Handbook for Faculty and Academic Administrators: I.E.-F., H.2., II.A.-D.


Specific Charges, 2019-2020

  1. Identify the issues of central faculty concern surrounding the role and disposition of Academic Support Staff and Associated Faculty. 
  2. Collaborate with SCOA to identify the issues of central faculty concern related to online learning at Penn.
  3. Review voting privileges of the Practice Faculty (pursuant to Faculty Handbook Section II.B.3.7.), giving special consideration as to whether active Practice Faculty should be permitted to vote on matters related to the appointment or promotion of other Practice Faculty.
  4. Consider any matters affecting faculty size, appointments, and tracks brought to the committee by individual schools.

SCOF 2019-2020 Membership

  • William Beltran (Veterinary Medicine)
  • Lea Ann Matura (Nursing)
  • Susan Sauvé Meyer (SAS/Philosophy)
  • Ani Nenkova (SEAS/CIS)
  • Bruce Shenker (Dental Medicine)
  • Julia Ticona (Annenberg)
  • Lyle Ungar (SEAS/CIS)
  • Ex officio:
    • Roger Allen (SAS/NELC), PASEF non-voting member
    • Kathleen Hall Jamieson (Annenberg), Senate Chair-Elect
    • Steven Kimbrough (Wharton), Senate Chair

Guidelines for Faculty Track Change Requests from Schools

For schools wishing to amend the faculty tracks laid out in the Faculty Handbook, the above Guidelines (approved by the Faculty Senate in 2011) must be followed for purposes of the Senate's review.  Any supporting documentatoin, including records of approvals in School faculty meetings, should be routed to the Office of the Provost, which then relays the information to the Senate together with a cover letter indicating the Office's position on the proposal. 

The documentation is then reviewed by the Senate Committee on Faculty and the Academic Mission (SCOF), which will reach out to the School with questions or clarification requests.  SCOF meets monthly between September and April.  Upon approval by SCOF, it is then reviewed by the Senate Executive Committee (SEC).  Upon SEC approval, the Senate's review of the proposal is concluded.